No thanks!

When I was younger, just out on my own, I had a friend who went on and on about the marathon sex she had with her boyfriend. She would boast about 2-3 hours of continuous sex, sometimes 3 or 4 times per day.
There was a small part of my nineteen year old self that was envious. Afterall, didn’t marathon sex mean you were in a passionate relationship? I automatically assumed that the sex that I was having wasn’t sufficient. It didn’t matter that I felt incredibly satisfied. All I could think about was her 2 hour sex and in comparison, my 30 minute sex.

In the years since, my opinion has most certainly changed. In my world, I don’t want sex to last for 2-3 hours. Hell, I don’t even want it to last for an hour. I love sex, so it isn’t from lack of desire or passion or anything like that. I am impatient. I am easily pleased. I don’t need or desire sex that lasts for hours. I like to divide my foreplay and my sex equally…about 15 minutes each.  That’s not to say that I don’t enjoy a longer session every now and then but not longer by much.

It took me many years and a little bit of growing up to realize that there is no reason to pay attention to other people’s sex habits…or read too much into women’s magazine articles that preach to you how sex should be.
Sex should be whatever you want it to be. If you and your partner both enjoy extreme quickies…then go for it! Enjoy! If you want to have sex that lasts for hours, do it!
There’s no right or wrong length of time to have sex. For me, sex for hours doesn’t interest me. I’m too impatient for that.  I want it all and I want it NOW!
:)

We know that it is hard not to be influenced by peers and the media when it comes to how to have sex, how long to have sex, how to look while having sex…etc, but we hope that you realize that the only opinions on your sex life that matter are those of you and your partner.

Leave a Reply

