All Fired Up

I got pretty fired up this morning when I came to work and Petey mentioned the Q & A where a customer said we don’t have packaging featuring 2 females. Apparently some people feel like all of our packaging shows only male and female couples. Is this for real? Petey told me she took a walk through the Duckworth store and counted 8 boxes with couples on them so I decided to call all the other stores and get a breakdown of how many packages show heterosexual couples on the front.

CBS: 13

Topsail Road: 8

Duckworth Street: 8

Clarenville: 5

Gander: 11

Corner Brook: 5

Considering most of our stores have 100 + different products, styles, and colors on the walls I would say that we’re doing FANTASTIC! We can’t help what manufacturer’s put on their boxes but we always try to make sure we have a variety. ALSO for the record we do have just as many packages that have just females or males on the cover.

I’m not sure where this “Our Pleasure doesn’t support gays” sentiment came from but for me it just seems like a lot of bull. I worked at the Zone for 2 years doing functions or arranging fundraisers and multiple times OP gave me promotional gift cards for prizes. I know that a few drag queens that performed there have used OP for free items as well. So I don’t see how people can say they’re against the gay community when they contribute to help its local scene.  On top of that we have multiple gay staff! I’ve been working with OP for almost a year and I’m a manager so clearly they don’t mind me! And yes they have all met my partner it’s not a secret. I’ve never hidden it from them because I don’t hide myself.

I find it funny that the people who scream the loudest about the injustices of being gay are the ones who’ve probably never been discriminated against.  I’ve been there, I’ve been called a freak, a dirty dyke, and I’ve lost jobs, friends, even family members. I don’t like to tell the general public all about my personal life but I’m so upset about this subject that I’m going to just be honest. My 19th birthday I was raped and beaten downtown because some men hit on me and I said I was gay therefore not interested. When I was 22 I was jumped outside a bar by a man who “wanted to kill the gays”. I’ve been there, I’ve seen what homophobia is and I can understand being angry because people treat you differently or call you names. When I was a little girl I used to cry to my mom because I never understood why I was so different and why people hated me so much. I was made fun of in school and it’s continued to happen over the years. These are the people that I resent. The people who physically and verbally attack people over who they are. The rap artists like Eminem who have lyrics in their songs that say “I’ll still be able to break a motherfuckin’ table Over the back of a couple of faggots and crack it in half.” The politicians who oppose gay marriage.

Russia, Uganda, and other countries who make it illegal to be gay. My anger is focused on those who refuse to recognize us as people. The people who only see us as an “alternative lifestyle” group. When we start lashing out at society because we are upset with a select few it makes it seem like WE are the ones attacking everyone else. Like we are demanding more from the people who are already giving enough.

In 2014 my goal is to recognize myself as a person. I am a 25 year old woman with a beautiful girlfriend and amazing friends. I am an OP manager and a hard worker. I am the proud ‘mother’ of a beautiful dog and handsome kitty. I am talented, I am unique, I am special and I am ME. I will not allow others to identify me as a “lesbian” and I will not identify myself as such; I will identify myself as a person named Asia with a beautiful life. We are in a beautiful era where even the Pope views being homosexuals as people just like everyone else.

So this year I ask everyone to stop labeling, stop looking for people to blame for this problem and that problem. Accept that not everyone is going out of their way to hurt you and some things just happen for no good reason, ie:// 5 heterosexual packages in a sexual health store out of 100.

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”

 – Asia

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

