First dates are torture

The worst part about dating is that horrible, awkward first date. I HATE first dates I honestly think they should be used as a form of torture for criminals because they are the worst. If you’re anything like me you’ll probably meet at a coffee shop or go for a walk downtown. I like to meet in public places just in case the person turns out to be a complete creep and you need to make a safe escape. I’m also one of those girls who has a friend standing by for a phone call just in case I want to make the oh so obvious ‘I need to go’ emergency call.

I find there are so many rules with first dates that hold you back from being who you are; be careful what you say, don’t tell them anything too personal, don’t drink/drink anything that will give you bad breath (coffee so does), the man has to pay, set a time limit, don’t text til the next day etc. To avoid seeming like were clingy or too intense we adjust our actions and attitudes to impress the other person. I’m so guilty of this that I should be thrown into first date jail and never be allowed to date again.

We’re so programmed to be the person we think others want us to be that we seem to loose ourselves at some point along the way. A first date is a perfect chance to chat about things you like, don’t like, and hate. Put yourself out there and let things happen as they may. I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.” I think Mariyln Monroe had it right when she wrote this.

First dates are for getting to know someone, see if you’re attracted to them, see if you have anything in common and if you wanna see them again. There’s no point in pretending to be someone you’re not because the true you will come out sooner or later. Be yourself, and be true. You may be surprised how much the person across from you likes who you really are.

Leave a Reply

